At long last, it’s time to rev up the Sons of Anarchy spinoff. Following a rocky development, FX now confirms that Mayans MC has received a series order under creators Kurt Sutter and Elgin James, with an eye to premiere as soon as this year.

According FX, the ten-episode series will officially premiere on an as-yet-undetermined date later this year. The series’ status was previously in question after FX cooled on Sutter and James’ first attempt at a pilot order, and subsequently recast multiple roles for re-shoots. That said, the original Sons of Anarchy underwent some initial retooling, including Ron Perlman’s replacement of Scott Glenn as Clay. So reads the Mayans MC synopsis:

Mayans MC is set in a post Jax Teller world, where EZ Reyes, fresh out of prison, is a prospect in the Mayan MC charter on the Cali/Mexi border. Now EZ must carve out his new outlaw identity in a town where he once was the golden boy who had the American Dream within his grasp.

The new take stars Edward James Olmos, JD Pardo, Sarah Bolger, Clayton Cardenas, Richard Cabral, Michael Irby, Raoul Trujillo, Antonio Jaramillo and Carla Baratta. Noberto Barba directed the pilot and will serve as executive producer alongside Sutter and James.

It’s possible surviving Sons of Anarchy characters might put in an appearance, but stay tuned for more on Mayans MC as it arrives.

Check Out 100 TV Facts You May Not Know!

More From KISS FM